Killer cactus: my cholla is carniverous!

Plants
Killer cholla eats bird

Killer cholla eats bird

One morning in April I walked outside and saw a fledgling bird impaled on my cholla. I had never heard of this before, but I guess some birds that seek shelter from cholla can also get stuck by them during wind storms. This baby was probably from a nearby nest and just landed in an unfortunate location.

I’ve always thought of cholla as the sharks of the cactus world, but here is proof.

Leave a Reply

